BIG Math Network Industry Connection Series: Sports Analytics

The Industry Connection Series features interactive “office hours” with mathematical scientists working in industry. The goal is to connect mathematical sciences students directly with industry members who can answer student-generated questions. Students at all levels are welcome and encouraged to attend and ask questions. The February and March events of the series have been a great success!

The next event is coming soon on Thursday May 27th, 2021, at 12pm PT/1pm MT/2pm CT/3pm ET. Industry panelists will be Mike Dairyko, Senior Manager of Data Science for the Milwaukee Brewers Baseball Club, and Chang-Hsin Lee, Staff Data Engineer for ezCater. The event will be moderated by Charlotte Eisenberg, Data Developer at Sports Reference, LLC. Register for the Zoom event here!

Update: registration for this event has ended. If you would like to attend the event this afternoon, please email bigmathnetwork@gmail.com with your Name, Email, and position at university. To be notified in advance of next month’s event, please join our mailing list today.

Dr. Mike Dairyko leads the data science team for business operations at the Milwaukee Brewers Baseball Club. His responsibilities include building statistical models and optimizing business processes. Mike is a Posse Scholar and graduated from Pomona College in 2013 with a BA in Mathematics. He continued his education at Iowa State University and in 2018 received his PhD in Applied Mathematics.

Dr. Chang-Hsin Lee currently works as a Staff Data Engineer at ezCater. He entered into the data field as an intern for a baseball team, the Tampa Bay Rays, then worked as a data scientist at Lowe’s Home Improvement for a few years. He got his Ph.D in Mathematics from Vanderbilt University in 2017. You can learn more about his experience outside of academia at his blog: https://changhsinlee.com.

Charlotte Eisenberg is a data developer for sports-reference.com living in Texas. She grew up on Peaks Island in Maine and graduated from Haverford College in 2019 with a Bachelors Degree in Mathematics. She also played collegiate field hockey and spent a season as an analytics apprentice with the Texas Rangers.

The BIG Math Network is grateful for sponsorship by the American Mathematical Society (AMS), American Statistical Association (ASA), Institute for Operations Research and the Management Sciences (INFORMS), Mathematical Association of America (MAA), Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics (SIAM).

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s