BIG Math Network Industry Connection Series: March 2021

Last month, the BIG Math Network introduced a new series of events. The Industry Connection Series features interactive “office hours” with mathematical scientists working in industry. The goal is to connect mathematical sciences students directly with industry members who can answer student-generated questions. Students at all levels are welcome and encouraged to attend and ask questions. The first event of the series on February 17th, 2021 was a great success!

The next event is coming soon on Thursday March 18th, 2021, at 12pm PT/1pm MT/2pm CT/3pm ET. Industry panelists from the Lockheed Martin Corporation will be Dr. Ariel Leslie, Senior Metric and Data Analyst, and Dr. Mayowa Awe, Senior Data Analyst. The event will be moderated by Dr. Trilce Encarnacíon from the University of Missouri St. Louis. Register for the Zoom event here!

Update: registration for this event has ended. If you would like to attend the event this afternoon, please email bigmathnetwork@gmail.com with your Name, Email, and position at university. To be notified in advance of next month’s event, please join our mailing list today.

Dr. Leslie got her BS in mathematics from Texas Southern University followed by a PhD degree in Mathematics from the University of Texas at Arlington. She studied and published in the area of computational/mathematical neuroscience and very much enjoys volunteering and teaching children all about STEM. She is passionate about using her acquired mathematical modeling skills for applications to business. Check out her recent article for students, which includes some practical tips on succeeding in college and the job search. Dr. Leslie is looking forward to hearing and responding to YOUR questions on March 18!

Dr. Awe got a BA with honors and PhD degrees in mathematics from the University of Texas at Arlington. She enjoys teaching and mentoring, and through her speaking engagements, Dr. Awe hopes to encourage the next generation of STEM scholars, as well as expose people to the versatility of mathematics. Dr. Awe is looking forward to hearing and responding to YOUR questions on March 18!

The BIG Math Network is grateful for sponsorship by the American Mathematical Society (AMS), American Statistical Association (ASA), Institute for Operations Research and the Management Sciences (INFORMS), Mathematical Association of America (MAA), Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics (SIAM).

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s