Introducing: BIG Math Network Industry Connection Series

The BIG Math Network is excited to announce a new series of events! The Industry Connection Series will feature interactive “office hours” with mathematical scientists working in industry. The goal is to connect mathematical sciences students directly with industry members who can answer student-generated questions. Students at all levels are welcome and encouraged to attend and ask questions.

The first event is coming soon on Wednesday February 17, 2021, at 12pm PST/1pm MST/2pm CST/3pm EST. Industry panelists will be Samantha Schumacher, Director of Data Sciences & Analytics (Supply Chain) at Target, and Ryan Siskind, Lead AI Scientist at Target. Register for the Zoom event here.

Update: this event has reached capacity, and we regret that further registrations cannot be accepted. To be notified in advance of next month’s event, please join our mailing list today.

Dr. Schumacher got her BA in theatre from Smith College followed by MS and PhD degrees in applied mathematics from the University of Minnesota. She blogs at SocialMathematics.net and is passionate about bringing the power of mathematics into everyday life and decisions. Dr. Schumacher is looking forward to hearing and responding to YOUR questions on February 17!

Dr. Siskind got his BS in mathematics from Youngstown State University followed by a PhD in applied mathematics from North Carolina State. He has worked at Target since 2011, starting in business intelligence and then moving into data science. Dr. Siskind is looking forward to hearing and responding to YOUR questions on February 17!

The BIG Math Network is grateful for sponsorship by the American Mathematical Society (AMS), American Statistical Association (ASA), Institute for Operations Research and the Management Sciences (INFORMS), Mathematical Association of America (MAA), Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics (SIAM).

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s